Rags2Riches

My heritage has always been important to me and while it can be incredibly generalizing to paint all of the Philippines as “poor” that is just personally from where my family comes. Certain images and traits like charity have been seared into my personality, but donations can be problematic (e.g., corrupt organizations).

That’s why I’m interested in brands that either feature local artisans and/or further teach those skills to employ people and pay a living wage. Once workers can pay for their living expenses and have discretionary money, they can buy from other businesses and help stimulate an economy.

One brand I’ve found like this is Rags 2 Riches. Based in the Philippines, they make sustainable accessories with upcycled, overstocked, and native materials.

Shipping can be pricey for someone on the other side of the globe, but a total still might be less than some designer bags. They do sell mens bags and backpacks, but all items are usually limited! You can sign up for their e-mail newsletters or follow their social media accounts if you’re interested and you might receive discounts.

shop
Rags2Riches

Linking up with Sincerely Jenna Marie | Still Being Molly | Beauty by Miss L

5 Replies to “Rags2Riches”

    1. Thanks for reading! I know it can be hard to care about every thing you buy, but I hope to write about more brands like this.

Leave a comment