RIP Chester

On Thursday, Chester Bennington of Linkin Park, passed away. The reported cause is suicide.

Linkin Park meant a lot to me. They were my first favorite band (as opposed to liking the pop groups everyone else liked). I was in MSN groups asking why they didn’t sing LP songs on American Idol (give me a break, I was 11). Looking back, I think that as a person of various identities that I didn’t have examples of, their rap-rock niche told me that was ok, you don’t have to be either/or and totally fucking rock it. I wasn’t watered down, diluted, or less than.

I didn’t know if I should’ve made a playlist of my favorite songs or talk about heroes or idols or make an impassioned plea for people to reach out for help because as Abdurraqib says and I know, it’s hard.

I do hope that he is at peace and that his family and friends find solace. I do thank him for his music, charity, and honesty that helped so many. And in a sorrowful time like this, I do always want to look forward and address what made them so to honor Chester.


chester.linkinpark.com

One thought on “RIP Chester

Leave a Reply

