June 2017 Empties

My first Empties post! I really don’t buy or use things enough to have them more often, but the bottles were piling up. I hadn’t kept the best usage record, I wasn’t sure if I should write about them, so please pardon any vague review. Learning experience!

Lotion hair tea

O’Pro Organic Protein Leave in Curl Vitalizer Conditioner &
Next Image Curl-n-Wavy Curl Defining Conditioner & Detangler
I’m reviewing these products together because I had a similar experience with them. I tried these because I felt like my hair was flat and thought I could combat it with curls. Both conditioners have oils and ingredients that sound great but they also both have parabens and other suspicious ones. I think the O’pro smelled ok to me, but Next Image smelled like an aunt’s salon. Its directions do say to comb the product through after spraying on wet hair, but if you don’t, your hair will be stiff like you used hairspray.
Unfortunately, these products aren’t for me though simply because I believe they’re meant to help tame curls, and I have none! My hair is only very slightly wavy. These products could’ve slightly exaggerated that or distributed the waves more evenly or less frizzy, but I didn’t like the extra steps of having to put these conditioners on outside my shower.
Jergens Natural Glow
Available at Ulta for $10.99
I started using this lotion in the winter because I thought I could try to even out my body’s overall color. This bottle boasts that it has a great scent which I have to admit is much better than the previous one that I thought smelled like the cereal Waffle Crisp.
Whenever I use this, however, it only tans the lighter sides the slightest amount you could tan the first time only. Similarly, I just noticed that the firming effect is supposed to reduce cellulite which isn’t in my top problems, so I didn’t notice if it worked. I’ve been using the Fair to Medium tone because my usually clothed areas are very light, but the outcome color is lighter than my tanner sides 😑 I’ve been thinking about giving the Medium to Tan range a last try of this product because it is full of parabens and BHT.
Melville Candy Tea Stirrers
I am much more of a coffee person than a tea drinker. But I love these tea stirrers. What’s not to like? They’re basically like lemon lollipops with little ginger chunks. They’re all natural, gluten-free, but they do have soy. Thanks to Julie for the present!
Matrix Biolage
Matrix Biolage Color Last Shampoo + Conditioner
Travel size available at Ulta for $3.59
13.5oz at JCPenny $12.75- $13.50
33.8oz set at JCP $24.99
I was able to try this fancy brand when somebody was getting rid of them, and there was still a good amount left! I have to say I’m impressed. With my usual cheap shampoo, if I don’t wash every other day, I’m oily and itchy, so you might be able to justify the higher price if you can get away with a wash per week!
Matrix Biolage doesn’t have parabens, but it does have other rank-ranking ingredients on EWG’s database. I don’t color my hair, so I can’t if this line works on its designation. Oddly, its reviews on the brand website aren’t great, but they’re 4.5/5 on Ulta! I also wasn’t a big fan of the scent, but it wouldn’t keep me from buying it.
Unfortunately, most of these items just weren’t for me! They may work perfectly well to whom they appeal, but I did want to use the whole package to see if they’d somehow turn it around. How long do you give a product before you give up on it?
LINK UP: Watch Out for the Woestmans
<: 3
2 thoughts on “June 2017 Empties

  1. I hate when that happens we buy all these product expected to get good results and they don’t work and then it’s like either you leave them they’re taking up dust until they aren’t any good you give them away or throw them away and it’s like all that money you spent on the product to just throw it away….

Leave a Reply

