Music Monday: Salsa & Choke

 

Here’s a little bit of a Music Monday for you since I misscheduled my last post. I went to YouTube an artist I heard on TV, but eventually found Ana Tijoux and her song with Shadia Mansour called “Somos Sur.”
There are so many reasons why I love this song. First of all, it’s very subversive. I don’t speak Spanish, but thankfully, we live in the future where at best, blessed souls provide translations or at worse, you can get a mangled one from Google Translate. This isn’t just about having a bad day or saying girls are pretty princesses; this is about the colonial theft of land and resources!
It’s rare and difficult to hear anti-establishment music in the US, and we practically discourage the use of languages besides English. So to hear such a dauntless and unifying track in Spanish with an Arabic rap verse, (and I’m going by the YT comments here) that blends the sounds of each culture, that’s not a sleepy folk song, by two women!!! is so beautiful and inspiring to me.

 

 

Ok, it was so hard for me to choose which ChocQuibTown song I’ve been replaying. After listening to Tijoux, Youtube recommended fellow Nacional Records trio, ChocQuibTown, all of whose videos, well, as one commenter says of “Salsa & Choke”, “Si no te nace bailar con esto…sos un robot.”
It’s interesting that they say, “El Pacifico en la casa” (which Google translates to, “The Pacific is in the house”) because I just kind of always associated the Pacific with Asia… But do other people say this? Is it like in the US with the East / West coasts? 🙂 Also check out–

 

 

 

I feel like I’d heard of A Tribe Called Red years ago but never actually got into them. At the very least, I did love “The Virus” that I checked out because I do follow Saul Williams. I do like the “Sisters” as well, but I chose this song because I liked the little video game-type sound effects.
I’ve actually lost a lot of time and interest in music, so it was very satisfying to get back into the groove even if all of these songs are actually a few years old! No idea if I will continue the outside the United States theme, but I could always use recommendations! Let me know what you’ve been playing!

9 thoughts on “Music Monday: Salsa & Choke

  1. For a second I thought that was A Tribe Called Quest hahah, I haven’t really branched out from my mainstream or 80s-90s Spanish music so it’s interesting to hear these, definitely adding to my playlist ❤

Leave a Reply

