Birthday Cereal Bars

Some time ago I must’ve been Googling easy desserts because I found this recipe for Rice Krispies. My brother loved them, so I thought I’d make some for his birthday. Not only is this treat super simple, but it’s very customizable. I didn’t venture far from the original (since they weren’t bro-tested :P), but I’ll share some neat options.
Ingredients
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 5 cups of mini marshmallows
  • 5 cups cereal
Process

Butter in Pot

1) Set your stove on “low” and melt 1/4 cup of butter.Melting Marshmallows
2) Slowly add 5 cups of marshmallows.
It might look weird as heck when they first start to melt but just keep melting and stirring, and it should end up looking smooth like a batter.
3) In a separate bowl, pour 5 cups of cereal.
When all your marshmallows are melted, pour them into this bowl and mix!

CerealBars_Batter.JPG

4) Spread the cereal-marshmallow mix on a plate, tray, or cookie sheet.
The recipe writers suggest greasing your tray with margarine or olive oil or use aluminum foil. I usually forget to do this! And it hasn’t been too much of a problem. Warning: this step is sticky!
5) Let these babies cool to room temperature. Cut into desired amount/shapes.
If you want basic bars, you’re done! Enjoy! What I like to do is add a layer of frosting on top. The frosting I purchased came with sprinkles, and I also bought a smaller frosting pen to write messages.

completed cereal bars

Some easy options or alternatives include: adding vanilla, using/adding different cereals, adding CHOCOLATE and/or peanut butter, and adding food coloring, cranberries and raisins. I would love to figure out a vegan version.
Additional notes! A typical 12oz box of a Rice Krispies-type cereal will be plenty for this recipe. You might even be able to get two batches. But my marshmallows came in bags of about 10oz which are only about 6 cups.
What do you think? It’s Mother’s Day weekend… do you think you’ll be taking over the kitchen for mom?
Recipe source: Wikihow

One thought on “Birthday Cereal Bars

  1. Wow this is such a cool idea! I’ve never tried this since being vegan but there’s ingredients for all of these so I think I’m going to try this out real soon. Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

