Masks I’ve Been Using

Can you believe there was a time that I didn’t use masks? Honestly, I still probably wouldn’t if they didn’t make such convenient little gift additions. Since I’ve received a few, I thought I’d share their characteristics in case you’re in the mask market.

Shea Moisture Mud Mask

Mud mask

If you’re a drug store beauty enthusiast, Shea Moisture can be a tempting brand. Just a glance at the back of this package and you can see that the brand doesn’t test on animals, is family owned, and uses organic, natural, and fair-trade ingredients. This African black soap mud mask with tamarind and tea tree oil  is supposed to absorb excess oil, clarify, and soothe blemish-prone skin.
I think it works! It’s a darker gray, clay wash-off that does not have that tightening feeling these type have as they dry. Some reviews have said it smells like crayons, but I notice more of a baby powder scent.
However, Shea Moisture has been the center of controversy lately as Bain Capital became an investor, a tone-deaf ad campaign and claims of hair care formula changes have left the very audience that built the brand feeling suspicious and abandoned.

Ahava Mud Mask

Dead Sea mask
I just noticed that this is also a mud mask! Whereas the Shea Moisture mask was a darker gray, Ahava’s Dead Sea Essentials soothing chamomile looks and smells more like sand, matching its “spa facial” description. It is not tested on animals and doesn’t contain parabens, phthalates, or sodium lauryl sulfate/sodium lauryl ether sulfate.
If it looks and smells like sand, it’d make sense to feel like it too, right? It’s very slightly grainy. And while it doesn’t have parabens or SLS, its EWG rating is a 7 with concerning ingredients such as BHA and several PEGs. It does come in a generous size, but it does fail the BDS boycott.

Que Bella Refreshing & Indulgent

quebellamask.JPG

This was a little fun. I tried Que Bella’s pink pomegranate peel-off first, and it’s clear! It’s kind of like a gel and is very sticky. I don’t know if I didn’t use enough, but it came off like if you let glue dry on your skin. It reminded me of the Berrisome lip tints. But it smelled really nice, and as far as ingredients go, it seems to be a mix of natural and shady.
The “indulgent” side of package was another mud mask! It has a very cute light pink coloring. It’s made with rosehip and green tea oil. I’m not sure about the green tea, but it definitely had a rose or floral scent. Its ingredients are actually different from the “refreshing” side and even includes some parabens.
I found all of these masks to be a little drying, but this could have been caused by any number of things and probably nothing a moisturizer couldn’t fix. As much as I liked the Shea Moisture and Que Bella pomegranate mask, I’m not sure if I would buy them. I will probably let my mom try the rose mask for Mother’s Day though since she likes those scents. 😛

3 thoughts on “Masks I’ve Been Using

  1. I haven’t heard of these ones before but they look and sound amazing! This post also reminded myself that I need to pamper myself a lot more, and masks are always the way to go! ❤

Leave a Reply

