Derma e Charcoal

unboxing

If you’re like me, you’ve been seeing charcoal as the latest ingredient in beauty regimes. However, whenever there’s a popular craze, it can be overwhelming choosing where to start. A wash? A scrub? A mask? What kind? Which brand? Fortunately, Derma e sent me their Purifying 2-in-1 Charcoal Mask and Purifying Daily Detox Scrub, and I’m excited to share my experience!*

What attracted me to Derma e is that they say their formulas are 100% vegan and cruelty-free and do not use parabens, sodium lauryl sulfates, petrolatum, mineral oil, artificial colors, gluten, soy or GMOs. A lot to consider, but a lot to praise! I think if I kept track of all the things I should be avoiding, Derma e would be a top brand to keep.

As someone who sells online, can I just take a second to appreciate Derma e’s packaging? I can understand that if you’re not a company, an envelope is way cheaper, but I love when a box fits a product perfectly. I love the message inside as well.

scrub mask

Both items feature activated charcoal which draws out dirt and environmental toxins. I was a little concerned that daily deep detox would dry out my skin, but the scrub is gentle enough for everyday use. It also contains marine algae extract to protect from toxins.

You know how after you shave your legs, they feel free and refreshed? This is how my face felt after using this scrub! I don’t know if I just got accustomed to it or what, but it wasn’t as noticeable after the third day. It also pretty much feels and smells like any other scrub when applying, that is, it didn’t tingle or have a strong scent to me.

Both the Purifying Daily Detox Scrub and 2-in-1 mask have apricot seed powder for softer and smoother skin. This is what would really bond me to these products. I have more of a problem of messing with my skin than acne or perhaps even toxins, so if my skin is smoother, I’ve got nothing to mess with! I love that I feel like I almost don’t even have to moisturize (I still do just for good measure. You might be able to get away with it though!).

texture

That being said, unfortunately the scrub and mask aren’t magic and don’t make your skin look Photoshopped. Additionally, besides the initial refreshing scrub feeling, I couldn’t really tell if or how much the charcoal works. But I think that the products helped tremendously to even my my skin tone. The 5 -minute mask smells like clay and slightly tightens as it dries, but no more than any other mask.

Derma e’s Purifying Daily Detox Scrub and 2-in-1 Charcoal mask costs more than my usual gel cleanser, but I don’t think it qualifies as high-end, and if you can afford it, I think it’s worth it. After a week of use, my skin is smoother and less inflamed.

Perhaps you can try the mask or other treatments you expect to be more intense and stretch out its use. I don’t think I will get more charcoal products because I don’t feel like I have toxins? But I’m definitely looking into how Derma e addresses other blemishes and dark circles since I was so impressed.

it me

You can check out derma e’s website at http://dermae.com/

Link up: Watch Out for the Woestmans | Still Being Molly | Pumps and Pushups | Sincerely Jenna Marie | Claire Justine | Jersey Girl Texan Heart | B Loved Boston

❤ Steph

* Disclaimer: I was provided Derma e’s Purifying 2-in-1 Charcoal Mask and Purifying Daily Detox Scrub by the company and will receive compensation for writing this review. Although this post is sponsored, all opinions are my own.

3 thoughts on “Derma e Charcoal

Leave a Reply

