Pumpkin Muffins!

Pumpkin Spice Muffin

I don’t really set New Year’s resolutions, but writing for a friend’s site, I decided I should learn how to cook. I’m not inept, but it certainly wouldn’t hurt especially when it comes to foods like adobo or siopao that I can’t just pick up at the corner store.

It was my dad’s birthday last week, and since he’s getting older and complaining about how his doctors keep telling him what he can’t eat, I figured it wouldn’t hurt him to have one of his gifts be vegan food! I Googled desserts and one of the first things I found was this quick and easy recipe for Pumpkin Spice Muffins.

Pumpkin Muffin Ingredients

For this recipe, you’ll only need 3 ingredients: 1/3 cup of applesauce (or 1 “snack pack”), 1 can (15oz) pumpkin, and 1 box vanilla spice cake mix. If you don’t have cupcake/muffin liners, I’m pretty sure you can use vegetable oil.

vegan dessert cooking recipe spice applesauce cupcake

Preheat your oven to 350°F. Get your ingredients in a bowl and mix ’em up! I used a whisk.

Muffin Batter

Kind of looks like peanut butter, no? Line your pans with liners or oil and fill them 3/4ths of the way.

Batter in Pan

Once your oven is warmed up, bake for 15-20 minutes. My 20 min. batch seemed barely baked completely, but it can depend on a lot. For example, my cake mix said it had jello in it??? It was the only thing they had the store…

We never eat pumpkins, so the smell of baking these was incredible, almost overwhelming. I didn’t even taste any of the applesauce or “spice” of the cake mix which I was actually anticipating. I’d love to know any way I can add some kick into this recipe. Cinnamon?

Additionally, I didn’t think you had to refrigerate muffins, but apparently you’re supposed to after a few days. This is totally verified as mine started to smell odd  😦 Lesson learned!

I’m so pleased with how these came out, and my dad liked them! And he’s one to say if he doesn’t like something. They’re way healthy, and actually affordable. My applesauce wasn’t ~organic~ but all my ingredients were under $5. I’ll probably make these again for upcoming Thanksgivings!

 

What are some of your easy bake recipes?

Source3 Ingredient Pumpkin Spice Muffins

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Muffins!

Leave a Reply

