Happy Mother’s Day

You Are Amazing products

If you’re like me, bath sets and goods are your go-to present. I know they might get as impersonal as gift cards, but I think they are still practical, affordable, and depending on the set or goods, a little luxurious.

I was browsing Target’s website the other day when I found this new line called You Are Amazing. Right off the bat, how can you not love that name? It’s empowering without relying on physical appearance. I’m also really drawn the the minimal, yet bold design that make Bodycology’s look like clipart. Hahaha, I love Bodycology.

You Are Amazing has a bunch of interesting scents perhaps because they’re more tangible than “Pretty in Paris.” Additionally, I feel like it was difficult to get a nice set of Bodycology lotion, mist, and wash in one scent, but this new line seems to try to solve that problem.

They are about the same price as Bodycology, but I still wanted to go to the store to check out how they actually smelled before actually buying them. I thought they’d make a perfect Mother’s Day gift, but only if they had a scent my mom liked! Target’s site has smells such as Lemon Meringue, Eucalyptus Mint, and Coconut Water, but unfortunately in store, they only had Blooming Bouquet, Vanilla Bean, and Lavender Fields. Maybe they’re still new, but they looked like other people quite liked them.

Blooming Bouquet smelled like walking down an aisle of flowers in Target or Michaels. Vanilla Bean smelled true to its name; in fact, it smelled like Bodycology’s vanilla products. Lavender Fields is a scent I thought my mom would’ve really liked, and fortunately she did!

I didn’t even notice this until after I gave her the present, but You Are Amazing products don’t have parabens or phthalates, aren’t tested on animals, and are made in the USA. For every item sold, they donate to the United Nations Foundation Girl Up campaign.

Poking around on their site, some ingredients are sketchy, and they’re only donating 5 cents. It says this is what they’re doing their first year, so I don’t know if they plan to continue donating? And the UN can be sketchy, for lack of a better word, but I can recognize that it’s a huge organization and hope not every single branch is tainted. CharityNavigator rates the UNF pretty well (I couldn’t find any ratings on Girl Up).

So, what’s that idea, we can’t be ethical consumers in capitalism? I know, and it sucks, and maybe if you wanted to make a difference you’d straight up donate, protest, disrupt narratives that perpetuate inequality and whatnot. But if You Are Amazing is replacing Bodycology, I wouldn’t mind. Although, looking at their Facebook, I also wouldn’t mind if companies didn’t exploit things like Cinco de Mayo to peddle their crap ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Emphasis on the Mayo, am I right?

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

