Throwback Thursday

When I was about 13 or 14, I was having a grand ol’ time being a lil jackhole who had Nine Inch Nails’s The Downward Spiral on repeat. My best friend went to church every week, so it was kind of hard to refrain from busting out “Heresy” after riding the bus home (if you don’t know the song, here’s the line I had trouble with: “Your God is dead, and no one cares”).

But to show– or perhaps prove to myself– what a tolerant little atheist I was, I would watch music videos on the Christian tv channel. It’s also where I picked up the idea that abortions cause cancer, so who’s the real racist patronizer?

Quite a few popular (in my day, at least) rock bands were featured on these programs, such as POD, Switchfoot, Chevelle, and Flyleaf. I don’t think Blindside, Pillar were as big, but I liked their respective songs “All of Us,” “Bring Me Down,” and “New Medicines.” Also, Pigeon John :3

So, it’s weird to me to hear older millennials I follow be faux-outraged about Evanescence??? Like: a quick Google search will show that they tried to distance themselves. If that’s the kind of thing you want to make fun of I guess everyone has slow days…

SHOP THIS POST

Leave a Reply

